Monday, May 22, 2017

Different Waiting List Categories in Indian Railways

Different Waiting List types

When all seats in the train are booked then Railway offer Waiting Status to the passengers rather than confirm status. Below various types of Waiting list category tickets allotted to Passengers.Every IRCTC user better to know different WL(Waiting-List) categories before booking a ticket.

Various types of Waiting List in IRCTC

GNWL (General Waiting List): this is most common waiting list category in IRCTC.GNWL tickets issued to the passenger who gives their boarding station as train starting station or nearest station from origin station.This type of waiting list tickets has more chances to get confirmed.

RLWL (Remote Location Waiting List): If These category tickets issued to the passengers who book a ticket for intermediate station If a train is travelling to 1-10 stations, and a passenger booked a ticket to travel between 4-7 station.This category waiting list tickets categorised as RLWL.Because usually, these are the most important cities&stations on that particular route.Confirmations will depend on the cancellations of an already confirmed ticket.There are fewer chances of confirmation.

PQWL (Pooled Quota Waiting List): This Quota tickets issued for short time journeys.Pooled Quota operate only from the originating station of a train.There is only one Pooled Quota for the whole run. The Pooled Quota allotted for below criteria bookings.

  • Originating station - Nearest station
  • Intermediate station - Terminating station
  • Intermediate station- Intermediate Station

RLGN (Remote Location General Waiting List): RLGN category is issued when a  passenger books a ticket where WL quota under RLWL. These quota ticket booking tickets get named as RLGN.

RSWL (Roadside Station Waiting List):  These quota tickets are allotted when a ticket is booked at the originating station (train starting station) for journeys up to the roadside station(there are no distance restrictions). This waiting quota has very fewer chances of confirmation.

RQWL(Request Waiting List): if a user booked a ticket to travel between two intermediate stations, and if it is not covered by the GLWL, RLGN, PQWL quotas, may the request o into a Request Waiting List (RQWL) category.

CKWL(Tatkal Waiting List): this is Tatkal waiting list category.This category tickets either will get confirmed, or cancel.there is no RAC process for CKWL waiting list For Tatkal tickets, the waiting list issued is CKWL.By depending on the season and demand, Tatkal Waiting list tickets get confirm.Therefore Tatkal waiting list tickets are fewer chances to get confirmed. 

Share This

we provide useful information from all over India like Tourist and Travel guidance, location reviews, Indian temples information and other information.